Piepa Cleary Earns Call Up ICC World Cup
Date of Event : Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:17PM


South Perth's and Alcohol Think Again Western Fury bowler Piepa Cleary is one of the bolters in Australia’s extended 21-player squad for the upcoming 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup.

Cleary is one of three WA players named by the National Selection Panel (NSP) for the tournament in England and Wales, alongside Nicole Bolton and Elyse Villani.

The 20-year-old right-arm fast bowler, who went to Sri Lanka with the Shooting Stars last month, claimed 16 wickets for the Fury and Perth Scorchers during the 2016-17 season.

She also took three wickets opening the bowling for the Shooting Stars in the Sri Lanka tour.

Following selection of the squad, National Selector Shawn Flegler said: "We are really excited about players that have been chosen in this initial squad and are looking forward to seeing them put their best foot forward over the next three weeks.

"There’s some great depth in the squad with the more experienced players complimented by a number of new faces who have shown they can hold their own at this level.

"The ICC Women’s Championship showed us how tough this year’s tournament is going to be and the players know they’re going to have to be at the top of their game to win the title.”

Australia will be looking to make a strong start to their campaign which begins on 26 June against the West Indies at The Country Ground, Taunton.

England, New Zealand, West Indies, India, South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will join Australia in the tournament with each side to face off against the other seven nations concluding with semi-finals at Bristol and Derby before the final at Lords on 23 July.

Australia are the defending champions having won a record sixth World Cup in 2013 after defeating the West Indies by 114 runs in the final in India.

The squad is as follows:

Sarah Aley NSW, Kristen Beams VIC, Alex Blackwell NSW, Nicole Bolton WA, Piepa Cleary WA, Holly Ferling QLD, Ashleigh Gardner NSW, Grace Harris QLD, Rachael Haynes NSW, Alyssa Healy NSW, Jess Jonassen QLD, Meg Lanning VIC, Tahlia McGrath SA, Beth Mooney QLD, Erin Osborne ACT, Ellyse Perry NSW, Megan Schutt SA, Molly Strano VIC, Belinda Vakarewa NSW, Elyse Villani WA, Amanda-Jade Wellington SA

Australia's World Cup schedule:

June 26: Australia v West Indies, Taunton

June 29: Australia v Sri Lanka, Bristol

July 2: Australia v New Zealand, Bristol

July 5: Australia v Pakistan, Leicester

July 9: Australia v England, Bristol

July 12: Australia v India, Bristol

July 15: Australia v South Africa, Taunton

July 18: First semi-final, Bristol

July 20: Second semi-final, Derby

July 23: Final, Lord's

Last updated: Thursday April 27, 2017 3:26PM
Author: Mark Korol