Cameron Jones Bevilaqua Impress at State Awards
Date of Event : Sat Apr 8, 2017 7:51AM

South Perth's Melissa Cameron fell 1 vote short of winning the Karen Read Medal for the best female player. Winner Renee Chappell pipped Cameron with 3 votes in the last game of the round to take the award. 

Rob Jones capped of a sensational 1st season with the Sky Blues to poll 15 votes in the Olly Cooly only 2 behind the eventual winner, Tim David Claremont Nedlands. David and Jones were locked on 15 votes heading into the final round, which coincidentally pitted Claremont-Nedlands against South Perth. Jones had returned to England prior to Round 15 to play for Lancashire, meaning his only hope was to be a joint winner, but David polled two votes in the clash to secure the medal outright.

South Perth’s WA rookie Alex Bevilaqua won the Allan Edwards Trophy for the most promising cricketer who has not played first class cricket and observes the spirit of cricket.

The clubs focus on youth is paying dividends.

Last updated: Saturday April 8, 2017 10:07AM
Author: Mark Korol